Saturday, 4 February 2017

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher


Title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Date Published: December 7th 2007
Publisher: Razor Bill
Pages: 288

Introduction 

       Clay Jenson knows that Hannah Baker is dead, which makes it very eerie when he gets a package of cassette tapes, with Hannah Baker's voice on them, telling stories, revealing secrets. He doesn't want anything to do with the tapes, but her voice tells him that he is the topic of one of the tapes

       Hannah committed suicide, but before she did, she recorded seven tapes. On them are thirteen reasons why.

       Clay is one of the reasons.

Cover

       The cover is very simple and very monochromatic, but I like it.

Story-telling

       Essentially, when you read Thirteen Reasons Why, you're getting two stories. You hear Hannah's through Clay's earphones, and Clay's reaction to the tapes as he wanders through his town listening to them. It's a very suspenseful story, as you wait for Clay's turn to come around, to hear why someone like him ended up the center of one of Hannah's tapes.

        As a warning to people who might be considering picking up this book, I just want to mention that you may find some of the stories Hannah tells a little boring, as they aren't all super excited, but rather realistic, and we all know that not everything we do in out lives is super exciting.

Characters

       I loved all of the characters. They were all very honestly written, they seemed like people who genuinely exist especially the two protagonists.

Clay's tape (spoilers, highlight between the brackets to reveal)

       (Clay's tape, as I expected came late in the novel. Obviously, it wouldn't be much of a suspense novel if Clay was the first person mentioned. I think the author did a great job of placing where Clay's tape comes up. It wasn't too soon, or too late. Either of those options probably would have lowered my opinion of the book. Too soon, and the desire to finish the book would have drastically dropped. There wouldn't have been much to look forward too. Too late, and as well as struggling to get through the book, the ending may have been too abrupt and not talked about enough. Anyway, as I was saying, I think the placing Clay as the ninth reason on the tapes was perfect!)

       As for the reason Clay is on the tapes, I think it worked nicely, even if I think it was slightly predictable, and when I say that, I mean, very slightly predictable because most of me was expecting a huge twist, because Clay is written to be pretty likeable. I was mostly expecting Clay to turn out to be a horrible person so, well played, Jay Asher. I'm very happy with the way that it turned out,, I didn't feel let down at all.)

Conclusion

       I loved this book, and I can't believe it took me this long finally read it. (I'm pretty sure it's been on my shelf since about 2013.) Although I mentioned that some people may find some of the stories a little boring, I loved all of them. This book had me turning pages, not just to find out why Clay is one of Hannah's thirteen reasons, but just to simply unfold Hannah's story, and no part of it disappointed me. I became attached to Hannah and truly felt for her, I felt Clay's uneasiness, Overall, this story was wonderfully written.

        I recommend that all teens read this at some point. Although watch out, this book is a giant Not-suitable-for-family-viewing-viewer-discretion-advised stamp, as the theme of the book is suicide, and it deals with a few sexual themes. So, yes. I think that all teens should read this book, maybe wait until you're slightly older than thirteen or fourteen, This book is valuable, because while raising the issue of suicide and other issues that greatly affect adolescents, it teaches how easily we can impact peo
ple in large ways, even when doing small things.

       Anyway, basically what I'm trying to say in this review can be summed up in about four words: This book. Read it.

Tuesday, 3 January 2017

Happy New Year! + Mini Reviews!

       Hello everybody! I just wanted to post quickly to say have a happy new year! I hope 2016 treated you well and that 2017 will treat you even better! Also, I know I'm late on this one, but I hope you had happy holidays!

       Anyway, I know I haven't posted in a little while, but I have been reading and I have a couple quick thoughts on the books that I read. Instead of giving them their own posts, I figured that they're quick enough to all fit into one post, so here we go:

     
       This book completely blew me away. It was everything I wanted it to be with every twist and turn of the characters and the plot. The creepy mood was set perfectly, every element of the story contributed to it, and I was on the edge of my seat through every turn of the page. I picked this book up because it was near Halloween, and I was looking for a book to get me in the creepy mood. It delivered, As soon as I can, I'm going to pick up a physical copy so I can read it whenever I am in the mood to read some fantastic writing. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.


       This was an okay book. I knew exactly what I was walking into, meaning that it was what I wanted to be, but also very predictable. Overall, a very light read, and something I would consider picking up again if I were ever looking for something to get me out of a reading slump

Saturday, 1 October 2016

Hello October!

       Well, here we are. My absolute favourite season has arrived.
      
        September didn't turn out to be the best month, but that's okay, because it's a new month, new week, new day, so there's always hope that things can get better.

       On the bright side, I managed to get two reviews out last month. Positive ones too!

       Apart from the blog, September was very busy and stressful, and so far it doesn't look like October is going to be any less busy or less stressful.
       
        For this month, I only have one review to post so far, but I'm at least pretty sure a review of The Night Circus will be up sometime this month as well.

       I'm hoping to read some good books this month and keep the blog updated, hoping for a better month than September overall, but if all else fails, at least Halloween is at the end of the month, right?

       I hope September treated you guys well and October treats you even better. :) 


       

Wednesday, 7 September 2016

Kiss Cam by Kiara London

Author: Kiara London
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Expected Publication: October 18, 2016
Pages: 201

Introduction

       Juniper, Jasper and Lenny make up the popular vlogging channel WereVloggingHere on the vlogging site VlogIt. With as many subscribers as they have, they are constantly getting "shipped" together. The most popular ship being Juniper and Jasper or "Jasiper" as the fans like to call it. After years of the fans begging to see some concrete Jasiper action, they give in, and kiss once on a dare. The fans go crazy, and soon the Kiss Cam is born, where they surprise each other with kisses, or they plan them out. The only catch is that it can only continue if there are no feelings involved.

       What's a little harmless kissing between friends?

Cover

       The cover is very cute. I like all the contrasting colors going on. The white titles stand out nicely against the black background and the bright colors of the lips against the black almost makes it look like the lipstick kisses are glowing.

Brief Review

       This was a pretty short book, one of only 201 pages, so I think I can fit everything I need to say into a paragraph or two without sectioning it off like I usually do.

         I had no problem with any of the characters, they were all what I expected them to be. This entire book was pretty much what I expected it to be, cute and quick and fun.

       The plot moved pretty quickly which is pretty much a given due to the length of the book, there isn't a lot of room for build up.

       This book goes with the cliche of two best friends falling for each other trope, so if that's not what you want to read about, then I wouldn't bother if I were you, because that's all this is. I enjoyed it though, it is exactly what I wanted it to be.

Friday, 2 September 2016

The Cabin by Natasha Preston

Author: Natasha Preston
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Expected publication: September 6, 2016
Pages: 336

Introduction

       Mackenzie's weekend away with her six friends was supposed to be fun. They expected to wake up in the morning with a nasty hangover, not with two of them dead on the kitchen floor. 

       The police put Mackenzie and her remaining friends on the top of the suspect list, since there was no sign of forced entry.

        Mackenzie launches her own investigation, knowing that her friends would never murder someone. But as time goes on, she might just have to accept that there is a killer lurking among her childhood friends.

Cover

       It's a good cover. The cabin, for some reason, isn't how I imagined, but it's spooky enough, so I'll let it slide this time.

Mackenzie

       I didn't like Mackenzie at all. I know her tendency to look for the best in people is part of her personality, and is supposed to be one of her quirks, but she was way too naive. I also feel like as a side note, she was probably a very sheltered child, seeing as what her reaction was when one of her friends admitted to getting high on occasion.

Blake

       So here we have Blake. The-mysterious-older-brother-that-nobody-has-ever-met-who-everybody-is-going-to-blame-for-the-killings, bank character. If not for the huge trope that is his entire purpose for being in the novel, he was okay. At the very least he was a bit smarter than Makenzie.

The Rest of the Gang

       The other characters in the cabin with Mackenzie were very stereotypical teenagers. All of them were very uninteresting, which is a shame because I really wanted to like them.

Motive & Ending

       I pushed through reading about characters I didn't like because I was interested in knowing why the killings took place. Sadly, I think the motive behind the killings wasn't strong enough. I know people get killed over all sorts of reasons that would be deemed "weak motives" but I was definitely hoping for a better ending than what was offered.

        As for the ending itself, it only makes sense if there's a sequel coming eventually. So far I see no mention of one, which right now is okay because technically this book isn't published yet.

Conclusion

       This book was okay. I wanted to like it more. I was so excited to start reading this, and I wish that the excitement had stayed with me throughout reading, but it's hard to stay excited about what's happening when you don't like any of the characters and you don't really care about what happens to them. I wouldn't read this book again, and if a sequel does come, it won't be high on my TBR.




Hello September!

       Well autumn is soon to fall upon us, and I'm excited! It's absolutely my favourite season, the one I wait all year for, and it is always a particularly productive time for me.

       In August, I wasn't very active with posts, and I know that. I have been reading though! The reviews are just yet to be published. I'm happy to say that there are going to be some very good reviews coming in the months ahead, which is nice, because I feel like for a long time, the books I've been reading have been spurring only negative reviews. I'm always happy when I get to publish some positive ones!

       Apart from the blog, I've had a busy summer, but it's been fun! My most favourite part was probably when I got a tattoo. My first one! I was really nervous to do it but I'm so glad I did, because I love it!
       This summer treated me pretty well, and I hope September has nice things in store for me, and this blog.

  

Thursday, 1 September 2016

Unnatural Deeds by Cyn Balog

Introduction

       Victoria Zell doesn't fit in. She doesn't have a lot of friends, but she's okay with that, because she's got her boyfriend Andrew. He's homeschooled, but he's the only thing that makes her stupid Catholic school bearable. That is, until Z comes along. He's captivating and confident and fun. Everything Victoria isn't, He makes her want to do things that she could never bring herself to do before, and suddenly Victoria feels like a completely different person than she was before he came along.

Cover

       I'll admit, the first thing that drew me to this book was the cover. It's absolutely beautiful.

Characters

       I didn't really like the characters in Unnatural Deeds but in it's defense, I don't really think the author intended for the characters to be likable, and even though I didn't like  them, they did make me feel for their situations, which is good.

 Mystery

       Unnatural Deeds is written sort of backwards. We start at the ending and Victoria recounts the story from the beginning. The mystery I'm talking about opens as soon as you start the book. At the beginning of each chapter, there are little snippets of things like police and coroner reports, as well as interviews from characters you read about. As you read, you are left wondering who these pieces of information are about, and what caused them to happen. It's all very suspicious. An example would be:

Duchess-Police are investigating an apparent homicide after a body was found in a wooded area early Tuesday morning. Authorities have not yet released the name of the victim or the person(s) they are questioning in connection with the investigation.
-Central Maine Express Times

       I loved reading these. Obviously, you can guess who's involved, but I think this is a very creative way of communicating a mystery.

Ending

       The ending really surprised me, just like I was hoping it would. There were times where I wasn't that into the book, but the ending redeemed the book for me.

Conclusion

       I struggled with this book at the beginning, which you would know if you're my friend on Goodreads, but I started enjoying it more once I hit about halfway. Despite the slow start for me, I would read this book again. I would recommend this book to fans of The Lonely by  Ainsile Hogarth, and fans of The Memory Game by Sharon Sant. I would be cautious if giving this book to a younger reader as there is some sexual content.